Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

73 220d starting issues- electrical

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2012, 10:54 AM
Default 73 220d starting issues- electrical

Well I am new to diesels, but not cars (or the forums).

I just purchased a 73 220d - needs a little love but not too much to get it in great condition.

I have searched for this issue, but did not find exactly what I am looking for..

Symptoms:
Went to test drive the car (on a thurs) and started up just fine, no issues. Car was driven maybe 7 minutes, turned off for a bit, then watch it be started again and driven away.

Had the car looked at by a mechanic- he said oil change and NEW BELTS (this may play into the symptoms) and the car will be solid. This is a legit mechanic- really knew his diesels..

Went to pick up the car the next thurs. I turned the car on, then off after a min. to talk to the owner. Went to turn it on again- car would crank but not fully turn over. The guy jumped the car for me and she took a second to charge, but then started right up, no problem. He gave me some money back for a new battery and told me that had never happened before..

Drove to autozone (on a a dead battery, which leads me to believe the alt. is still good, otherwise the car would not stay on..) got a new battery. Car started and didnt have any more issues.. UNTIL i went to start it up on Sat. night. did the same thing at the original owners house.. would crank but not all the way over.. could tell it's the battery..

Other things to note:
The battery is grounded near a lot of rust
the belt around the alt is pretty loose

My thoughts: (Please confirm or give any other ideas)
- I am going to ground the batter with a larger wire in a better place (sand an area down on the body, keep it short, yada yada...)
- Ground the alt to the body better as well, same way
- replace loose belt

Any other thoughts/ opinions?

Sorry for the long first post!

-Chris

Old 06-25-2012, 05:45 PM
Default Answer