Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

1985 300SD White Smoke

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2010, 12:11 AM
Default 1985 300SD White Smoke

Newbie here and my very first post.
I just inherited this 300SD and it smokes at idle and when you first get going. Once on the freeway, no smoke at all. Then when i get off the freeway and back on surface street for a while, white smoke comes back.
Dip stick does not look milky and no external leaks seen/detected.
Power is still strong and gets up to speed and cruises 80mph with no problems.
Help needed to get rid of James Bond like smoke screen.
Thanks in advance

Old 08-04-2010, 11:38 PM

Looks exactly like that.
Have you/anyone got the proceedure and any pics on how to adjust the Injection Timing.
Thanks

Old 05-20-2013, 09:55 PM

I'm having this same problem with my 1983 300SD (white smoke at idle). I will try checking the injection timing following the attached procedure above (Thank You Forced Induction). As I was reading it, however, I was left a bit confused. In step #8, it states to "Turn crankshaft in direction of rotation until fuel at overflow pipe takes the shape of droplets: one droplet per second." So, basically, just by turning the crankshaft, I will achieve this set-point of "one droplet per second"? I thought that in order to perform this adjustment, we needed to rotate the injection pump slightly until we achieved this set-point, while maintaining the crankshaft at 24 degrees (just short of TDC). Which method is accurate?

Thank You for your help.

Old 05-21-2013, 12:07 PM

Thank You for the clarification Forced Induction!