Mercedes SL Class Mercedes SL500 and Mercedes SL600 Roadsters.

New SL500 Owner from Phoenix

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2011, 03:55 PM
Default New SL500 Owner from Phoenix

I am the proud new owner of a 1997 SL500 Sport. 93k miles in near flawless condition, I'm pretty stoked. My wife totaled her 1998 750IL BMW V12 and this is the result of that accident. She was fine btw.

Total newbie here with regard to Mercedes Benz. I'm more of an American Muscle car guy, like Mustangs, I've had a few.

The BMW was dealer serviced. There is a big difference with regard to Fair Market Value and Agreed Value. Always be sure to get agreed value where possible with your insurance, it can really cost you in a total loss.

Anyway...

I have some questions.

Is changing the oil the same as an American car? Ive heard I need to suck the oil out, cant I just drop the drain plug? What oil would you use??

I dont know all the history on the cars service, its all at the local Mercedes dealer. The guy I bought the 500 from said he didnt keep the papers. Ive called the dealership prior to buying and they said he was excellent with service and I can get a copy of the complete records any time. Of course theyd also like to have my business.

Is it normal for the top releasing and engaging suppose to be so loud? It works perfectly and we tested it about 10 times before buying based on people saying to do it at least 3 times.

Releasing just sounds noisy.

Are the door hinges always so noisy? Ive tried spraying WD40 to see if it quieted things but it hasn't. Any suggestions or do I just need some grease?

Online resource for Parts. Also any good recommendations for mechanics in Phoenix, Arizona?

Any thing you guys can recommend I should be looking into other than the normal maintenance things I'm doing after acquiring an used car.

Attached Thumbnails New SL500 Owner from Phoenix-m3.jpg   New SL500 Owner from Phoenix-m2.jpg   New SL500 Owner from Phoenix-m1.jpg  
Old 05-03-2011, 06:33 PM