Mercedes S Class Mercedes S350, Mercedes S430, Mercedes S500 and Mercedes S600 Sedans.

Newbie with a brake pad change question

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2007, 11:29 AM
Default Newbie with a brake pad change question

My wife's S430's brake sensor light came on. I am plannig on changing the pads this weekend. I am curious...I have changed pad on my Porsche before and forgot to ask someone that had done it before. The problem was removing the pads because of the backing plate Porsche glues onto the pad. The backing plate has two holes that it fits in, I suppose to keep the pads in place.

Does Mercedes have anything like this or any other obstacles I need to know about?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Old 02-22-2007, 07:48 PM
Default RE: Newbie with a brake pad change question

I'm no expert, but its my understanding that when replacing the pads on the S-Class, you usually have to do the rotors as well. Anxious to hear what the subject matter experts have to say on this.

Old 02-24-2007, 02:10 AM

I did mine a few months ago...2001 S430. My practice has been for the past 10 yrs. is if the rotor isn't all scored up and if there hasn't been a bumpy feeling in the pedal, then I just change the pads. This not what the dealer will tell you or what a perfectionist will tell you, but it's worked for me. Of course if the pads have been changed before without turning down the rotors you may have to do something.
What I learned is this: take a little fluid out of the resevoir, remove the sensors over the pads, remove the pins and springs, force the pistons back a little and then the pad probably won't come out:-)