Mercedes S Class Mercedes S350, Mercedes S430, Mercedes S500 and Mercedes S600 Sedans.

2000 S320L Air Suspension Problems

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2008, 08:38 PM
Default 2000 S320L Air Suspension Problems

I am new to owninga Mercedes and just had for about 3 months. I am having problems with the air suspension system. I got the car from a friend becuase he had the same problems and got tired of fixing it. I took the car and I am determined to solve the problem.

Histroy:

In the last year a total of 5 strut assemblies has been placed an two pumps. I replaced the pump and strut one month ago on the RR and now the RF is leaking. I hear the pump running and if you let the car sit for a while you will feel the car rise. The RF after about 10 minutes you will hear a pop from the suspension and it will raise and sometimes stay and somtimes go down. I still can drive it but sometimes the warning light comes on and when I stop to raise the car it raises. I hear air leaking after I turn of the car at night. During the day the car will not drop much but after sitting all night the RF will be on the bumper stops. When I start it is raise to where it can drive but I have to wait another 15 minutes for it to level but sometimes it does not level.

After having the RR replaced I noticed the car was not level and leaning to the right side. Can this effect the struts on this side? After readin post it is my understanding that the car should level out by itself? What can keep it from leveling? Could it be that I need to have MB check the system to see what is going wrong?I have done this and my friend has done this but I refused to believed that the struts can go bad over 60 or 90 days and never the same one?

Is it possible just to remove the airstruts and go with normal struts inside of the automatic struts? And can anyone let me know where to get the repair kits for the struts.

Someone please help!!!!

Old 10-04-2008, 09:44 PM