Mercedes E Class Mercedes E320 and Mercedes E500 Sedans and Wagons.

Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help on an 05 e500 purchase!

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2011, 09:28 PM
Default Help on an 05 e500 purchase!

I'm new to this forum, and I thought I would start off by asking some advice. My fiancee and are in the market for a new car. Her car (2000 mit. eclipse) is just about at the end of it's life and now that we are getting married in a couple of months, and probably kids in a year or two are thinking about getting a new car.

I really want something larger than my C280 for kids and long trips in the future. I have been considering a 2005 e500. It's got all the packages and options, it's only missing sat. radio, which I don't care about. I would be purchasing it from the mechanic that I have been bringing my car to for 5+ years. He buys cars from an auction and then gives them a full inspection. He only works on Mercedes and Audis and has always treated me fairly. After taking the car out for a spin I didn't notice anything wrong mechanically or with any of the car's functions. I do trust his opinion when he says the car is sound. Right now he's asking $17k for the car. I looked up the blue book and with the options it stated $19k. It does have the AMG appearance package as well. The only blemish I could find is a wrinkle on the middle console leather. There is wear on the nav screen as well, but being touch screen I would expect that to occur. It does have 71k on the clock as well.

So my question to you guys is 1) do you think this is a fair price, and if not what should I offer? 2) any e500 owners out there, have you noticed any re-occuring problems or issues and what are the maintenance costs like?