Mercedes C Class Mercedes C230 Kompressor, Mercedes C240, Mercedes C280, Mercedes C320, Mercedes C350 Sedans, Coupes, and Wagons.

Windshield issue

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2007, 10:33 PM
Default Windshield issue

The windshield on my 2005 c230 sedan was recently struck by a stray rock. At first it was a miner chip, within two months it got worse. I now have a hugh crack across my windshield, so i am in need of some desperate help. I live in Dallas and i need to konw if anyone on this forum has used ParkPlace to have there windshield replaced? Or are there any shops that i can trust with my car that will doa godjob. I am not sure if ParkPlace does this inhouse or if they willhiresomeone to have it replaced? Thanks

Old 12-19-2007, 11:17 PM
Default RE: Windshield issue

I have a C230K, an '05, and I am a former glass installer of 15 years. Among other things....
I can tell you this about getting a new windshield. A lot of shops farm this job out since it's easier
for them to call the glass guy and have him come over and put the thing in. Labor is pretty cheap
for these types of jobs, so the dealers farm it out. Or......some dealers have a "glass guy" who is
experienced doing mostly just that, so he is the one they give the windshields, door glasses, etc. to.

Or, you can take it to a reputable auto glass shop or have them do it mobile at your place. Home or work
depending on weather, etc. Windshields are not rocket science. Basically, if I can summarize the job, you
remove any moulding around the top and sides of the windshield, and the w/shield wipers and cowl piece and
cut the old windshield out, using either an electric knife or a windshield cut out knife with a long L-shaped blade
to reach in and cut the urethane that holds all the new windshields in. A bead of new urethane is laid on the
part that remained when the glass was cut out, and the new glass is simply set in place on the new sealer.