Mercedes C Class Mercedes C230 Kompressor, Mercedes C240, Mercedes C280, Mercedes C320, Mercedes C350 Sedans, Coupes, and Wagons.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

performance diff. between C230 and C240

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2006, 09:15 PM
Default performance diff. between C230 and C240

I'm shooting for a C230, but was wondering about the C240, and how it is different from the Kompressor one, i know C240 takes more Gas, but even with that, the Specs say it has less HP(168), compared to the 190HP u get from the Kompressor, which has a better MPG

So MBENZ experts, please give ur advice for which is a better engine..

Old 08-29-2006, 12:48 AM
Default RE: performance diff. between C230 and C240

(I'm no MB expert, just an owner). I've got the '06 C230, which has the 201HP V6. Smallest offering in '06, but I think MB hit the sweet spot with it. Plenty of zip, and I often see 33 mpg "after start" on my commute home (lifetime so far is 29.2 mpg, Consumer Reports pegs it at 32 mpg highway). I'm pretty sure that the '07 C230 is getting a flex fuel version of the engine, which sadly will hurt the mpg numbers across the board (it's 14/19 mpg when using E85, and I can't find a web quote on what the gasoline nbrs are.)