Mercedes C Class Mercedes C230 Kompressor, Mercedes C240, Mercedes C280, Mercedes C320, Mercedes C350 Sedans, Coupes, and Wagons.

New Member - 1999 280C

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2011, 10:51 AM
Default New Member - 1999 280C

I am duplicating this post from the New Member Group, since some of my questions are specific to my C Class model. Any pointers are appreciated.

I am new to owning a Mercedes Benz. My youngest daughter and her husband bought a new car and sold (practically gave) me her 1999 280C, with about 115K miles. I drove it from Dallas to Houston (about 250 miles) yesterday, so had a chance to get to know it a little.

The ride and handling is great. Noticed a slight delay in acceleration at times, but negligible. Body and interior is in nice condition. I will need to replace the headliner, but a local shop does a nice job on that, so I'll get that done 1st thing.

Where/how is the best, reasonably priced, way to get a second electronic key made?

Any recommendations for a repair/service manual? Any anticipated repairs or fixes I should look for in particular at this mileage?

Thanks
Steven Jindra

Old 04-05-2011, 10:40 PM

welcome, your story sounds strikingly a lot like mine. i got my 99 c280 a week ago from my brother who had a fender bender in it and decided that he was'nt going to pay the cost to repair a 12 yr old car, gave it to me, and bought a new one. mine is a silver c280 sport with 108,000 and i noticed today that the headliner is starting to sag. i like the lines of this car and may keep it once i repair the car but i have 2 others already. i have already been to Houston to find parts for it, and mercedes used parts are not cheap or easy to find in good condition.

Old 04-06-2011, 09:24 AM

The tires had pretty good wear, so I replaced them with a set of Firestone Touring Tires, went for comfort of ride over higher speed performance. It is a noticable improvement in the ride.