Mercedes C Class Mercedes C230 Kompressor, Mercedes C240, Mercedes C280, Mercedes C320, Mercedes C350 Sedans, Coupes, and Wagons.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

'02 C240 ticking sound

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2006, 10:10 PM
Default '02 C240 ticking sound

I'm a newbie and recently purchased an '02 C240.

I have noticed, after the engine heats up, a ticking sound from the engine that speeds up as I accelerate. The engine will also idle a little rough but performance doesn't seem to be affected. I only notice it in 1rst and 2nd gear. I've read elsewhere that switching to a synthetic oil can help with ticking but I'm not sure they are addressing the same problem I'm having.

I'm taking it to the dealership to have it looked at but I'd like to have an idea of what it is ahead of time. Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks!

Old 03-20-2006, 10:25 PM
Default RE: '02 C240 ticking sound

Switching to synthetic??

Your car should already have synthetic. Synthetic is what's prescribed for your car.

It does not matter syn or dino oil you have in your engine, if you put heavier oil, non-major valve clickings tend to go away.

However, some people report louder valve noise with heavier oil because the valves have to struggle more and thus make louder noise.

So...there are a thousand theories floating out there.

Hope...nothing's seriously wrong with your car. Remember, Benz are not the quietest cars around. Want a quiet one, should have bought a Lexus.

Old 03-20-2006, 11:03 PM

I've only had the car for a couple of weeks and the dealer never mentioned that it required synthetic - learn something new every day.

If the dealer doesn't find anything then I guess I'll try a heavier oil.

Thanks for the response.

Old 03-21-2006, 12:15 AM

It could be an exhaust leak.

Old 03-21-2006, 12:24 AM

I hope not but it now I'm glad I decided to buy the extended warranty.

Old 03-21-2006, 11:08 AM

Could be your purge valve.
Do you use premium gas?

Old 03-21-2006, 01:30 PM