General Tech Post general Mercedes Tech questions here.

Newbie here, Transmission flue really a llife time fluid?

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2006, 09:52 AM
Default Oil change intervals?

Thanks

Last edited by jasonreserve; 12-08-2018 at 08:23 PM.
Old 02-05-2006, 10:09 AM
Default RE: Newbie here, Transmission flue really a llife time fluid?

The ATF does not need changing as a matter of course but there is a screen filter in the bottom pan that can be replaced and at the same time the ATF is changed. I use only fully synthetic ATF. The dipstick was dispensed with some time ago I beleive the checking point is accessed from underneath using the appropriate length of dipstick for the model that MB dealers keep as a special tool. Not sure if there is a DIY level plug or not. ATF is usually checked when the transmission is hot and in park with the engine running. Overfilling causes flaired gear changes as is to be avoided.

Old 02-05-2006, 12:46 PM

My mercedes shop recommends every 50,000 miles(personally I think that is a little conservative). If left unchanged they have seen E-Series transmissions fail at 90 - 100,000 miles. Replacement trans is $7500. I just bought a E430 with 80,000 and have had it changed. Mercedes advertises lifetime capability but practical experience has proven different. Diptick is $45.

Matt

Old 02-12-2006, 12:51 PM