General Tech Post general Mercedes Tech questions here.

NEWBIE here please Help with codes

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2009, 11:41 PM
Default NEWBIE here please Help with codes

Hello i have a 99 ML320 with 58,000 miles. This is the first time since it was new that the CEL has come on. It came on the other morning when i first started it. Took it to a independent mechanic and the codes came up po170 po173. He ran numerous diagnostics and everything came back fine. He checked the o2 sensors also. He told me that the intake was dirty and said cleaning it may help so he did that and put a new air filter on. The next morning started it up and the cel is on with the same codes. It only seems that it comes on when first started in the mornings then it stays on of course. Im suppose to take it back to him monday morning. Is there any suggestions that i can give him on this. Please any information would be great...

Old 01-11-2009, 12:36 AM
Default RE: NEWBIE here please Help with codes

Hi,

85% confident it is the MAF.
Characteristic signature including typical mileage at which problem occurred.

Did tech. reset (clear) the codes.

The engine management system is unable to adjust the fuel mixture to the correct setting because it has run out of range which is determined during system boot..
Both cylinder banks = common cause = MAF

but other possibilities exist like O2 sensors.

Hopwever, there are multiple O2 sensors and chances more than one going at the same time is remote (but possible)

Search the site for MAF failure etc. Possibility that cleaning the MAF sensor MIGHT work but only QA solution is a new genuine sensor.

Stuart

Old 01-11-2009, 04:47 PM

Okay i actually found a replacement maf sensor here in town and went and installed it and drove it a good 40 or 45 miles and the cel is still on. Will it turn off by it self or do i need to reset the computer with my scanner? Any help would be appreciated

Old 01-11-2009, 06:17 PM