General Tech Post general Mercedes Tech questions here.

Multiple Flat Tires & cracked rims!!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2008, 11:15 AM
Default Multiple Flat Tires & cracked rims!!!

# flat tires and 2 cracked rims in less than a year. Spoke with numerous other owners, same very costly issue. Found out that MB financial created insurance product for and now makes alot of money off. I am suggesting possible design defect as rims crack under normal driving conditions. Anybody else ? Please respond?

Old 03-07-2008, 02:59 PM
Default RE: Multiple Flat Tires & cracked rims!!!

What rims, what vehicles? I have been driving Mercedes for nearly 30 years and I have never heard of this.

Lawrence

Old 03-07-2008, 03:07 PM
Super Moderator

There was a recall way back for the 84' 190d and 190e for cracking rims, but none recently that I am aware of. Yes, please tell us what model and year it is.

Old 03-07-2008, 04:53 PM

I also am curious ofthe applicabilityto which year and model of Mercedes this issue is repeatedly occurring. I have not seen this occur and have not seenforums posting ofmultiple recurring same problems. If there are several car owners of certain MB modelsexperiencing repeated cracked rims and flat tires, hopefullythey share with all of the concern, so we can have awareness of the issue. Thank You.

Old 05-14-2008, 06:19 PM

Hi i'm a victem
i own a 2004 clk500 with 17' amg wheels, and today will be the second time that i might have to replace the wheel, btw the wheels at the dealer costs $900 per wheel and of course its hard to buy just one rim
the first time i was getting flat tires took my car to a tire shop my tire was fine but there was a angle hair crack in the rim it had to be replaced, luckly i had just got my car and the dealership gave me a new rim at no cost (keyes european)