Mercedes M Class Mercedes ML350 and Mercedes ML500 SUV's.

Travel Trailer towing

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2010, 12:40 PM
Default Travel Trailer towing

Hi all,

As a new member to this forum, I am not sure if this subject has been discussed before, and if so please excuse me for repeating it.

Can anyone share his/her knowledge, or perhaps their first-hand experiences, about (any) trailer towing with their ML320?

Other than observing GVWR and GTW rating limit I want to learn just about everything else that is not mentioned in the Owners' Manual.

I own a 2000 ML320 as the original owner, the vehicle is very lightly driven (only to run errands and occasionally recreational trips but never off-roaded). I am thinking getting a travel trailer and using my ML320 as the tow vehicle. This will be a replacement for my Class-C motor home that I recently got rid of. I have zero towing experience to speak of - not even a small utility trailer or a light duty bike trailer. I would like to know what I am getting myself into before commit into such an investment. Any insight you can share with me is appreciated.

Old 05-19-2010, 11:33 AM

Hi specware,
I don't know how big of a trailer are you thinking of to get but I use my ML320 to haul full size cars, some times by using two wheel car dolly some times full 2 axle trailer. I was going to upgrade my ML with the larger Brembo brake set as in ML55 but found out that the originals are just fine. I installed the OEM Oris hitch on my ML right after I bought it, about 3 years ago, including side frame corner brackets and electrical harness.
I also use my ML to plow snow (hitch mounted heavy all steel plow) with no problems.
I can't even count the 14' boat and utility trailer with ATV on it because you don't even feel them there when you driving.
European towing capacity for 163 ML is rated even higher then US, so if you go by the weight rating in the manual (5,000 lbs.) or on your hitch label, you will be fine.
Good luck,