Mercedes Forum - Mercedes Benz Enthusiast Forums

Mercedes Forum - Mercedes Benz Enthusiast Forums (https://mercedesforum.com/forum/)
-   Mercedes M Class (https://mercedesforum.com/forum/mercedes-m-class-16/)
-   -   Exploding glass sunroof on 2 day old ML (https://mercedesforum.com/forum/mercedes-m-class-16/exploding-glass-sunroof-2-day-old-ml-20924/)

JonnyB_NYC 06-11-2007 05:01 PM

Exploding glass sunroof on 2 day old ML

Hello everyone -

First I wanted to say "Hello!". I'm a newbie to this group, having just leased an '07 ML350 - actually picked the car up on Thursday. I am a big believer in the power of these forums, as I have been active on the Corvette Forum (also own an '07 Z06) and that community has been an integral & enjoyable part of my experience with that car.

Anyway, I wonder if any of you have heard of a similar experience. I was driving the new ML on Saturday with my wife & 2 yr old daughter in the car. Driving about 40mph on a relatively normal highway lined with stores and such, no overpasses or anything like that. Suddenly there is an exploding sound - as if a gun went off in my car. We look up and there is a hole in the glass sunroof (shade was in the open position) about 8"x4", but the glass is pushed up as though something jumped out of the car and upwards through the roof. There were some very tiny shards of glass that landed on my wife and I (fortunately not on my daughter), though most of that glass was gone. Nothing from outside had entered into the car.

We pulled over, closed the sunshade and called MB. I had to drive about another 5 miles (very slowly) to get to an event, and as we drove I could hear the glass panel crackling. By the time I arrived at my destination, glass had begun to fall off in larger chunks, gathering above the sunshade. Over the next hour or two more glass came down, some of it falling through the vents in the sunshade onto the seats.You can see a picture of the roof a couple hours after it happened.