Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

81' 300 SD Cranking but not starting

Old 04-08-2010, 01:27 AM
Default 81' 300 SD Cranking but not starting

Hey everyone.
My car is in a lot of trouble at this point and all help is appreciated.
We were away for the two weeks it was pouring rain here, and came back to town last night to discover the car won't start.

Cranks fine (had to jump the battery a few times to keep being able to crank it to make it start), I replaced the primary and secondary fuel filter, held the little plastic filter in my palm and blew hard into it, to push any sediment that may have been released and later captured at the bottom of the fuel tank, thus clogging the fuel line. Before we left, it sat there during the two weeks diesel and Sea Foam in the fuel tank.

so it's not gas line issues, I think.

I am guessing, it's an electrical thing, and because I am not really a mechanic (can do simple jobs on the car) I am clueless here.

All fuses look intact and fine.

Possible guesses to where the problem lies are - glow plugs, fuel pump, water in the fuel line ( it rained SUPER hard here in Hawaii for two straight weeks and even the interior of my car was full of mold smell in just that short time!!).

Please help.

Old 04-08-2010, 05:24 PM

Remembered a couple of additions to clarify things.

- a greyish/blackish smoke was emitted by the exhaust when I tried cranking it to start it up a few times that night. I probably tried to start it 10 times (with a few battery jumps to keep the starter going)
This smoke kinda smelled like something was burnt, an oil or something like that.
This freaked me out so I left it alone and did not try to start if after that.

-This is the first time this happened and the car ran perfectly fine before this incident. Never had any such problems before.

Old 04-08-2010, 09:30 PM