Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

first MB....

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2008, 11:28 PM
Default first MB....

Hi all,

love this forum, first post. I am contemplating buying my first MB. i have always been in love with the old MB's and it is time to get serious. I would use this car maybe 4-5 times/month to run errands around town. most I would travel is probably out of my city (san francisco) 40 miles at a time. after test driving a 1975 240D, automatic, here are my thoughts and concerns. any feedback would be greatly appreciated. I am not an expert by any means and my car work has been on my old 84 ford bronco II and my dad's 91 pick up (Japanese)

1. the paint is peeling off and the driver/passenger side seats are shot (ripped,etc). so to say it is cosmetically challenged is being nice. how it looks is not super important to me now as I can make it nicer over time, in theory. how much does it cost to repaint these cars typically? are seats available via the junkyards?

2. rust- there is some rust behind the rear wheel wells (ie-if you put your finger on it it falls off-probably 3-4 inch circle), but very little to none at the door bottoms, sills, trunk lid, inside the trunk and under the car from what I can see. any other trouble spots I should look at?

3- while driving,the driver side rear wheel seems to brush up against the wheel well sometimes. this could be a suspension issue? anyone had this problem just on the one wheel? expensive fix? this freaks me out a little if I am driving on the freeway.

4- the shifting between 1st and 2nd was on the harsher (I felt a strong jolt each time) when done. rest of the shifting was smooth.

5 - did not see much if any smoke at all

6. blowback- the oil filler cap just danced around a lot when I did "the test". it did not come flying off, which is not ideal, but not bad from what I understand.

7-started up with no problems - mind you it was 60 degrees