Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

Diesel Damsel In Distress!

Old 08-22-2010, 07:47 PM
Default Diesel Damsel In Distress!

Hi everyone!
I'm new to this chat/forum thing but I have been getting so much helpful info when I google any question it leads me straight to these sites. So I thought I would join up myself.

So here's my deal:
Just got an 85' 300D Turbo and its a beautiful ride! Very clean, one elderly owner, colonel in the military, almost 200K...really nice car.

My problem has been a really toxic smell when I drive. I had the engine steam cleaned right after I bought it because the owner told me he sprayed Armor All in the engine compartment. Then my mechanic said there was a small leak and replaced that cloth covered tube/hose? We also put some brand new veggie oil in the box/cube and mixed it with diesel. That was fine.

Anyway...I keep getting sick whenever I drive my cool new car!! I am extremely chemically sensitive, this is true. But I have owned an '81 SD myself, my stepdad has an '84 300 Turbo, and I worked at Lovecraft Biofuels when I lived in LA. So I dont think I'm allergic to diesel. I've been around plenty of them all my life. But when I have driven it I get dizzy, headaches, burning eyes, throat, nose and almost a weird metallic taste in my mouth. My dad's girlfriend said she smelled and tasted it too. But no one else notices it as much.

Anyone have ANY suggestions?! I am exasperated I almost want to sell the car!!

Last edited by Diesel_Fox; 08-22-2010 at 07:59 PM.
Old 08-23-2010, 11:27 AM

I steam cleaned the engine. It is spotless. I really dont think there is anymore armor all on it.

Any my Mercedes mechanic who put the veggie oil in has been doing that way on his and no problems. He actually said it was good for the car because diesel does not have a certain lubricant in it anymore since the EPA took it out. He's been working on Mercedes for 50 years.