Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

The Car for Me?

Old 10-02-2007, 10:27 PM
Default The Car for Me?

Dear Mercedes Pros.,
I am a college student looking for my first Mercedes Diesel. I am very familiar with Mercedes and Volkswagen diesels after wanting to burn Veggie Oil for a number of years. I owned a Volkswagen Golf Diesel, but had to see it go. I am looking again and have found a 1987 190D with 146K. I am very familiar with the W123 300's (TD/D/SDL) and the W123 220D/240D but was unaware that the 190 came in a diesel. To my understanding it is the same in-line five cyl with a smaller displacement (2.5L vs. 3.0L). My question is: "Is the 190D as good a car as it's famous 300 big brother?"

It is common knowledge that the W123 are some of the (if not the) most well engineered and longest lasting passenger cars on earth, but does the same go for the 'Baby Benz'? I became very interested in the 190D's and did a bit of research. I was surprised to find that they seem to be going for a lot less on eBay and my first thought was: "Great, they are clearly not as good as the 300 if they are not commanding as much." However, is the situation not that they are any worse, but simply that they are slower (76hp vs. 100+hp?) or also that they are quite a bit smaller?

If it was the ladder two, I think that would fit my bill wonderfully. You see, I am a small car milage hound. After being spoiled by my Golf, I have made milage a priority (even before comfort). However my Civic is getting a bit long in the tooth, and I want the comfort/reliability of a Mercedes with good milage and in a compact size. I seem to be going against the grain in not wanting the traditional 'boat' that is the TD/SDL class. (Sorry guys, there just HUGE to me). It is to my understanding that the 190D is the most fuel efficent of all the Mercedes due to lower displacement and lower weight. Is this the case?