Mercedes Forum - Mercedes Benz Enthusiast Forums

Mercedes Forum - Mercedes Benz Enthusiast Forums (https://mercedesforum.com/forum/)
-   Diesel Discussions (https://mercedesforum.com/forum/diesel-discussions-33/)
-   -   84 300d turbo transmission problems (https://mercedesforum.com/forum/diesel-discussions-33/84-300d-turbo-transmission-problems-57073/)

84300dturbo 12-12-2016 10:38 PM

84 300d turbo transmission problems

I'm new to the fourm. I wanted to post a problem I have been having. About a week ago my car just all of a sudden wouldn't go anywhere in first gear it was slipping really bad. So I thought the transmission was gone but I adjusted the Bowden cable very loose and the car would go again it was starting off in second gear but the transmission was flaring really bad during gear changes. So i started messing with the vacuum modulator and nothing was helping the flaring so I got curious and just disconnected it and ironically now it shifts smoothly but I still don't have 1st gear. So I'm just baffled about it all. Has anybody ever had such a problem? The car has 308000 miles and the engine runs great I've heard the the b2 piston could be bad but it's not leaking fluid. So if anybody could help me I would greatly appreciate it.

84300dturbo 12-13-2016 10:35 PM