Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

1977 300D - your thoughts?

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2008, 01:23 PM
Default 1977 300D - your thoughts?

hi! im relatively new to this while car buying game, but i found a 1977 MB 300D for sale in my town and ive been lusting after a car like it for as long as i can remember!

I was wondering if anyone owns one - what are your thoughts on it? any common problems that i should be worried about or is it an overall decent vehicle? i plan on using biodiesel in it.. possibly partially converting it to wvo in the future..

also - another question: i was wondering about a ballpark estimate on how much the car is worth? i cant find it in kelley blue book, but i read that a '90 300D with all the bells and whistles and same mileage as the '77 im eyeing is worth about $3200 in good condition. the people selling the '77 here are asking $4900, and that seems like too much. however, i have no idea how much a reasonable price would be!! if it helps, here is what i know about it so far.. i copied it right from the ad:

Good condition 1977 Mercedes-Benz 300 D. 2nd owner, maintenance records available, 116K. These cars can run to 300K or beyond. Baby blue 4 dr. Automatic transmission. New Coverlay dash, all new brakes and shocks. Runs great on homemade biodiesel (peanut oil) or reg diesel or any combo - save money at the pump! Can be a show car with minor flr upholstery & body work. Better condition than most M-B of similar vintage.
i have also asked for the VIN number so i can do a carfax report on it.

thanks for your help!!

[IMG]local://upfiles/34742/C73F32CE5A4C4221A3BEB5A190CACBC0.jpg[/IMG]

Old 08-22-2008, 03:09 PM
Default RE: 1977 300D - your thoughts?

The NADA value is anywhere from $3800 - $8600.

Please do not convert this (or any other) car to WVO. Here's the most definitive resource on the argument:

http://www.scribd.com/doc/4022579/vegetable-oil-as-fuel