Off Topic A place to boldly go off topic. just about anything goes here. Keep it clean.

OM617 Powered 4runner

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2014, 08:48 AM
Default OM617 Powered 4runner

I am just about finished with the initial build which started in June of 2014. Thought I might share it here. First of all, I am not a mechanic. This is a hobby for me and creative outlet. Many people have attempted this project. There is plenty of information out there. What I have not seen is accurate MPG and performance data regarding the 4runner swaps. That is something I intend to address in this thread. I also plan to use my truck as a test bed for some of the performance modifications that will work on any of the om617 motors.

The project started with an 83 300cd. The car ran and drove, was purchased in Oct of 2013. I drove it through the winter and spring of 2014. It had under 200k miles and ran pretty well. Had to shut it off manually and trans was a bit choppy. I purchased a Gen 1 Toyota 4runner for misc parts and the 5spd w56 trans and gear driven t-case. Stripped the Gen 1 and sold the motor and some misc parts, scrapped the rest. The Gen1 was pretty rough and nowhere near road worthy. I pulled the motor and related parts from the 300cd in may 2014. I found a collector who wanted to restore it, being a coupe. He bought the body, I was happy to see it go to an enthusiast. This started my MBZ schooling. Now I had to decide on a 4runner to put the motor into. I found a 94 Gen 2 in Wisconsin w/in my set price range. It was advertised as having a bad clutch but possibly driveable. I bought it a week after the coupe was gone. Keep in mind, I am working out of a 2 car garage and mostly in the driveway. So, space is limited.