Mercedes M Class Mercedes ML350 and Mercedes ML500 SUV's.

ML 430 Transmission problems

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2008, 04:58 PM
Default ML 430 Transmission problems

Be gentle as I am a MB noob. I saw the other post about the ML trannies free revving, but my problem is different. Whilst towing a light trailer today at about 30mph my trans shifted into neutral by itself and the gear indicator on the dash was all solid, no numbers indicating what gear the tranny was in. I tried shifting back into drive and while fumbling with the lever, accidentally threw it into reverse while doing about 10-15mph. I stopped the car, turned it off in order to shift into park(it wouldn't go into park with engine on) and then turned it back on and shifted into drive. The dash indicator was still all solid and while it would go into drive, it wouldn't shift out of first gear. Got it home(only a few blocks away) and tried to put in park but again, wouldn't go into park unless I turned key to off position. Upon restart, I could put it into reverse, back up, then put it into drive but then after that I could not put it back into reverse or park unless I again turned the key to off and shift it back into park. I've built engines for my Subaru but don't know Jack about MB auto trannies. Thought maybe the transmission ECM took a dump on me, but I'm speculating at this point. I'm also worried I damaged the tranny when I accidentally threw it in reverse while moving forward though I must say, nothing sounds out of the ordinary(no grinding or horrible mechanical sounds, etc). I really hate this vehicle, I spend about $2000 on repairs EVERY year and it only has 80K miles on it. I just got done replacing the radiator in it because MB sees fit to put radiators with plastic end tanks in a $50,000 automobile. Can anyone shed some light on my tranny problems? Thanks so much!

John

Old 10-11-2008, 12:15 PM
Default RE: ML 430 Transmission problems