Mercedes E Class Mercedes E320 and Mercedes E500 Sedans and Wagons.

Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R12 to R134a Conversion

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2006, 03:14 PM
Default R12 to R134a Conversion

Been doing a little research and it looks like I need to do this conversion. My A/C system (1992 300E) seems to
work marginal, I get some cooling but not enough. I plan to purchase a conversion kit from Advance Auto Parts
and order/replace the Receiver/Drier. I'm not a professional mechanic but am capeable of basic maintenance such
as tune-ups and oil changes.

Would appreciate any words of wisdom regarding this process. I am also concerned about CFC's but don't
have the tool to evacuate my R12 prior to conversion...so...there goes the ozone layer. Local shops want
$800 to do this conversion! Parts extra! I can purchase the conversion kit for $60 and a new drier for $50.

Please offer any experienced info you have.

Much Thanks!
Bruce

Old 05-30-2006, 05:42 PM
Default RE: R12 to R134a Conversion

Well whatever you do, don't mix R12 with R134. I don't remember why but it is supposed to be bad.

I suggest having the local shop only evacuate the R12 out and doing the conversion yourself.

my .02,
Andrew

Old 06-02-2006, 10:47 PM

I had a 90 MBZ 300E and had the conversion done also. It is really not much to it. I had a guy at a Repair Shop do it and he charged me all of about $60.00
Your biggest problem is going to be finding someone that will do it and not rip you off. All they do is evacuate your R-12 and then replace the fittings to accept the hardware for the 134A and then fill you back you and charge the system. I had mine done in CT. If you are in the Bay Area of CA, I may have someone for you there. Good Luck

Old 06-03-2006, 12:00 AM