Mercedes E Class Mercedes E320 and Mercedes E500 Sedans and Wagons.

Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

'86 (W124) 300E - Can't start when hot. Cold start OK

Old 05-12-2004, 08:07 PM
Default '86 (W124) 300E - Can't start when hot. Cold start OK

Hi everyone!
My friend’s '86 300E starts ok when the engine is cold and runs fine without any problems until it is switched off. He can't however start the car once the engine is warm. Apparently the starter motor turns the engine over but engine fails to start.

I know a thing or two about cars but I have limited knowledge on Mercedes cars. I have searched for some pointers related to this problem on quite a number of Mercedes forums on the net but I could not find anyone having this kind of hot start problem.

I know above info is limited for a proper diagnosis over the net but I have yet to see or test the car. I'll only be able test it tomorrow to get a better idea on what the exact symptoms are and I’ll post my findings here. In the mean time, I was hoping that someone on this forum may be able to shed some light on where to check, what to test or how to diagnose this kind of problems.

I do appreciate your help on this and thank you very much in advance...

Old 05-13-2004, 03:57 AM
Default RE: '86 (W124) 300E - Can't start when hot. Cold start OK

try the air duct be low the throttle houseing make sure no crack
2----mixture adjustment
just a idea

Old 05-15-2004, 02:44 PM

Check the fuel pressure. See if it's bleeding down after you shut the engine off. If it does you need to find out where. The system should maintain at least 60% of running fuel pressure for one hour. Possible leaking pints, fuel pump check valve, injectors, fuel pressure regulator or fuel dist.

Old 05-16-2004, 01:16 AM