Mercedes CL Class Mercedes CL500 and Mercedes CL600 Coupes.

Best Year of CL 2002 -2006

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2009, 12:12 PM
Default Best Year of CL 2002 -2006

Hey,

I am new to Mercedes. I have been a BMW owner for 21 years. I have been eyeing the CL 500 for years, particularly starting in 2002.

I am purchasing a use between 2002 & 2006 CL500 in the next 3 months.

I am currently doing my research & checking all 4 sales listing.

This will be my daily driver (work & play).

I am looking for the best deal (economy). However, I am focusing on year, mileage & condition.

What is the best year (2002 -2006) and why?

What is the biggest flaw & problem/issue?

Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Sircas

Last edited by Sircaas; 08-06-2009 at 12:14 PM.
Old 08-10-2009, 08:53 PM

ABC (Active Body Control) is a potential problem. I just turned my 2002 CL with 73,000 miles in on an '09 E350 that doesn't have any computer controlled suspension. My car started to have problems with the ABC. The automatic door closure gave me problems because a small plastic piece cracked and could no longer supply the pneumatic pressure to close the door. You have to buy the whole door lock mechanism ($600). The most beautiful car I've ever had - best interior, but a nightmare when it breaks.

Old 08-23-2009, 12:51 PM