General Tech Post general Mercedes Tech questions here.

not "general" tech - SCCA car build

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2005, 10:12 PM
Default not "general" tech - SCCA car build

Well, i am new to this world of MErcedes benz, i have owned my 300e for about 3months now and i love it. WHen i lived in florida i had a 1989 Honda Prelude Si... far from stock, i knew what to add, but, now i am onto something new. I want to build a 190E, for street and for track. I have been looking into SOLO from the SCCA here in Kansas and i am going to dive in head first. I want to modify a 190E for Solo/Pro races (solo = autocross). I was wondering if anyone has modified a 190E with any motor upgrades, suspension, interior.

Matt

Old 09-13-2005, 11:53 PM
Default RE: not "general" tech - SCCA car build

The 190 had a Cosworth engine option in England, full race config'd, get one, it's probably illegal in theUS. I am not familar with autocross modes, have you checked out what you can do. Try www,bekkers.com they have "racing' parts for 190's You will need a frame mounted roll bar for the inside that I am sure of.

Old 09-14-2005, 11:30 AM

I was watching a show on TLC called "Top Gear". It is a british record automobile show. The other night they highlighted 2 cars that they felt were sleeper collectibles. Somewhat not noticed now but will be collectible in the future. One of them was the 190E w/ the cosworth engine. They did not mention anything about them being or not being available in the states. They could not say a bad thing about the car and they did talk about it's raceing background also. I'd take one! FYI, the other car was a GTI, don't remember the year, 90's.

Old 09-14-2005, 12:01 PM