Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

1983 300D Turbo Diesel Engine noise

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2007, 05:17 PM
Default 1983 300D Turbo Diesel Engine noise

Hi, I am new to the Diesel world and just bought a 1983 300D Turbo Diesel with a W123 engine with the intention of converting to WVO. Bought it cheap as it has an engine problem. It has 305,000 miles on it, otherwise it is good shape. Everything is original and A/C works ( converted to R134 )

The engine knocks during idle and vibrates a bit. However, when I rev the engine to about 2500rpm, the knocking noise goes away and everything seems normal. It drives reasonable well and oil pressure is good. I have taken a video with sound to help diagnostics but I need a method to upload it to the forum.

Any help would be appreciated as I do not want to spend a lot on engine work.

Old 06-15-2007, 02:22 AM
Default RE: 1983 300D Turbo Diesel Engine noise

Welcome to diesel world!!! I'm not a mechanic but I own 2 Mercedes 82 & 87 and both make nose when starting the car after 5 mn or soits fine.

Old 06-15-2007, 03:05 AM

Something you should understand if you are new to diesel engines, is that diesel engines tend to make more noise than gasoline engines. Diesel engines to seem to have a "knock" but it really isn't. What most people associate with a knock in the engine is simply the combustion taking place. Diesel engines do not get their ignition source from a spark plug. Rather at cold start, they have what is called a "glow plug" that heats the cylinder walls and such. A diesel engine uses the heat of compression and heat from cylinder walls and such to fire, as diesel can ignite at lower temperatures than gasoline. Doing so, it often sounds like an engine knock, which really isn't. And this sort of noise typically goes away when the engine is at a higher RPM range.